Edition 2010

In 2010 celebrated the Bicentennial of Mexico’s Independence and the Centennial of its Revolution. This celebration couldn’t be ignored by the Monterrey International Film Festival, so Mexico became the guest country at the Festival’s sixth edition.

Over 18,000 people attended the 195 films screened at the Cineteca Nuevo León and Cinépolis’ theaters, and other Festival’s venues, from August 20 thru 29. To celebrate Mexico through its cinema, a selection of films was made for its special sections: “Mexico from North to South”, “Films for a Better Mexico”, “The Republic of the Lions: Nuevo León’s Cinema” and “From the Vault”.

The world premiere of the film “No eres tú, soy yo” (It’s Not You, It’s Me) from Mexican director Alejandro Springall, was screened during the inauguration for the 6th Monterrey IFF, with the presence of this film’s director and cast.

In recognition of the Mexican actors and actresses that have given us endearing characters that transcend the screen, this year the Icons of Mexican Cinema Cabrito de Cristal award was instilled for the first time and awarded to: Pedro Armendáriz, Silvia Pinal, Héctor Suárez, Arcelia Ramírez, Ofelia Medina and María Eugenia Llamas. Armendáriz was also honored with the Cabrito de Plata in recognition of his Career Achievement in Mexican cinema, as was Mexican film director Maryse Sistach.

This year the Mexican Cinema Screenwriters Encounter was organized for the first time, with the attendance of 488 people attracted to the talent and experience of Maryse Sistach, who offered a master class, and other highly recognized screenwriters such as Guillermo Arriaga, Luis Estrada, Antonio Serrano, Vicente Leñero, Laura Esquivel, Alfonso Arau, Carlos Cuarón and Sergio Vejar, who were invited as keynote speakers.

The jury was formed by Pau Montagud (DOCSDF), Lucy Virgen and Rafael Maluenda (Valencia Film Festival) in the feature films category; Louise H. Johansen (CPH PIX), Hebe Tabachnik (Palm Springs/Los Angeles Film Festival) and Leonardo García Tsao in the Mexican feature films category; Paul Morrale (Bay Street Film Festival), Samuel Larson and Serguei Saldívar Tanaka for the short films category; and Kelly Williams (Austin Film Festival), José Luis Valle and Julián Hernández for the Nuevo León Cinema category.

Download here the official catalogue 2010 (PDF)


International Competition

Best International Feature Film Fiction
Les Signes Vitaux directed by Sophie Deraspe (Canada)

Best International Feature Film Documentary
Alias directed by Jens Junker (Germany)

Best Director
Sophie Deraspe for Les Signes Vitaux (Canada)

Best Screenplay
Jeff & Michael Zimbalist for The Two Escobars (Colombia – United States)

Best Leading Role Performance
Maryam Zaree for Shahada (Germany)

Best Cinematography
Jasper Wolf for Het Leven Uit Een Dag (Netherlands)

Best Sound
Frédéric Cloutier for Les Signes Vitaux (Canada)

Best Film Editing
Gregory O´Toole and Jeff Zimbalist for The Two Escobars (Colombia – United States)

Audience Award
Alias directed by Jens Junker (Germany)

Best International Short Film Fiction
Little By Little directed by Leung Kin Pong (Hong Kong)

Special Mention for Tokio Baby directed by Tommi Kainulainen (Finland) and Customer Support by André Øvredal (Norway)

Best International Short Film Documentary
Szesc Tygodni by Marcin Janos Krawczyk (Poland)

Special Mention for Kinbaku by Jouni Hokkanen (Finland)

Best International Short Film Animated
Le Petit Dragon directed by Bruno Collet (France)

Special Mention for Sous un coin de ciel bleu directed by Demuynck and Cecilia Marreiros Marum (France – Belgium)

Mexico from North to South in competition

Best Mexican Feature Film Fiction
Perpetuum Mobile directed by Nicolás Pereda

Best Mexican Feature Film Documentary
Un Día Menos directed by Dariela Ludlow

Audience Award
La Mitad del Mundo directed by Jaime Ruíz Ibañez

Best Mexican Short Film
El último canto del pájaro Cú directed by Alonso Ruízpalacios

Special Mention for La mina de oro directed by Jacques Bonnavent and Martyris by Luis Felipe Hernández Alanís

The Lions Republic

Best Feature Film from Nuevo León
Los Carboneros directed by Melisa Saucedo González and Benjamín Contreras Cabrera

Best Short Film from Nuevo León
The jury decided to hand two awards in this category
La Beca directed by Héctor Montaño Jaramillo
El Intruso directed by Carlos Algara and Carlos Ramírez