Edition 2004

The 5th Voladero 2004 International Film and Video Festival took place from August 25th to the 29th in 2004, at the Cineteca Nuevo León, and for the first time there were alternate screening venues such as Cinemark Plaza Real, the José Calderón Theater, the Galeria Regia, and the Auditorium at the School of Philosophy and Literature of the Autonomous University of Nuevo León.

The Festival celebrated its 5th anniversary as the only one of its kind in Northeast Mexico. In the competition there were 365 films submitted from 35 different countries, and 130 short and feature length films were screened at the Festival.

The fifth edition of the Festival opened with the screening of Bernardo Bertolucci´s The Dreamers (France – U.K. – Italy, 2003), and also included the premiere in Monterrey of Temporada de Patos (Mexico, 2004) directed by Fernando Eimbcke, with cast, producer and director present. There was also a special screening of Mi Casa Es Tu Casa (Mexico, 2003) by documentary filmmaker and member of the jury, Madeleine Bondy.

For the first time in the Festival there was a section destined for children’s films, made by children. In association with the theme park Mundo Deadeveras, the festival premiered the section “Cine Deadeveras” with 18 short films made by kids, where the the winner was Rubén Garza, from Monterrey, with his short film Malas Decisiones (Mexico, 2004).

The presence of Monterrey cinema continued with the non competitive section “Cine Regiomontano Reciente” where directors like Victor Saca, Patricio Serna, Jesús Mario Lozano, Pepe Caudillo, Oscar Montemayor, Marín Villarreal, Alma Morales, Guillermo Cardoza, Samuel Cepeda, and Andrés Clariond participated.

The Festival also included a film production contest with the participation of the city of Monterrey’s Bureau of Education, Culture and Sports through the Office of Culture, Kodak Mexico, Quattro Dimensiones and La Candela Films. The winner was Jesús Mario Lozano and his production team, who made the short film A la Salida, that was later presented in the opening of the Expresión en Corto Festival in Guanajuato in 2005.

The jury was conformed by the Danish documentary filmmaker Madeleine Bondy and the Mexican screenwriters Enrique Rentería and Jaime Palacios.


Fiction Short Film

First Place
Talking with Angels directed by Yousaf Ali khan (U.S.A.)

Second Place
Bus directed by Caroline Sascha Cogez (Denmark)

Special Mention to Diez Minutos directed by Alberto Ruiz Rojo (Spain) and Le Manian directed by Fréderic Jolfre (France)

Documentary Short Film

First Place
La Requisa directed by Martín Boege Paré (Mexico)

Second Place
El Eclipse directed by Merhdad Oskouei and Ebrahim Saeedi (Iran)

Best Mexican Short Film
Alas de Ser directed by María Teresa Bustamante and Rodrigo Leon

Mentions of the Jury
Radio Búho directed by Jeremías Ramírez and Fernando Salinas
No Estamos Solos directed by Melchor Morán Mayllén
La Fiesta Ajena directed by Andrea Eduardina Casar
Su Papel directed by Rodrigo Gaudenzi and Samuel Bernal

Special Mention to Animation short film Pan Tian Shou directed by Joe Chang (China)